Five Sentence Challenge: Conquer

Standard

The voice was louder, more coherent.

Overhead, another impact broke his tenuous hold on the phantom voice as the roar of another cave-in plunged him back into the silent hell he was sure was death.

‘You are not dead.’ The voice was there again, strong and clear.

He clawed at the rubble, fighting to conquer the insanity that held him trapped within the boundaries of his nightmare.

(I’ll admit, just this once, that I cheated a little and drew from a longer piece that I wrote from a flashback I had this week. Forgive my sneakiness. Next week, I’ll be on the ball.)

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

