Write on Edge ~ Gold Dust Saloon

Standard

Gold-Rush-300x171

Challenge: 500 words
Actual: 332 words
Time: 30 minutes

Authors Note: Somehow, from the comments, I don’t think that anyone got that the main character met her DEAD husband in the saloon. This wasn’t about a saintly or otherwise lifestyle…This was supposed to be an end-of-life story. looks like a lot of people didn’t catch that… just thought I’d clarify it.

Gold Dust…

‘Ah, it was good to be home!’ I sighed as I passed the old Gold Dust Saloon. The day I left, it was still in its heyday.

I pulled the car over and stared at it for a while. The way I remembered it, and the way it looked reminded me of just how old and jaded I was. I was now entering the winter of my life, just like the old saloon.

Oh, I remembered the place with memories that I’d never tell my children, nor my grandchildren. After all, to them I was a golden saint. Little did they know, and all the more that they didn’t know.

Yeah, I remembered the Gold Dust when the paint was shiny and bright as the morning sun. At night, it seemed to glow, enticing us young folk to sneak in the back door.

I met my late husband there. It was a hot night in August and the crowd had spilled out into the now vacant lot while the music blasted. Trees had hidden most of us then. My husband and I had slipped back into the far recesses and searched for our own private stash of gold. That was seventy-five years ago this Memorial Day weekend. Hard to believe so much time had passed.

The Gold Dust was sagging and unkempt, much like my ninety-five year old frame. I opened the rusted car door and wedged out with my cane in tow. Slowly, I hobbled around the end of the fence and slunk around to the back door.

The door was standing wide open, as welcoming as can be. Inside, the darkness was welcoming, bidding me to enter. With faltering step, I did.

‘Adelaide! It’s so good to see you! I’m glad you’re here!’ My husband’s voice called from the edge of the old dance floor as strains of Tommy Dorsey filled the air.
Challenge: 500 words
Actual: 332 words
Time: 30 minutes



4 responses »

  1. I hope they dance a little! I enjoyed the description she used of how the younger generations saw her “golden saint.” What a reminder that so many of us don’t know the stories of our grandparents in their youths, only the parts that make them mothers or grandmothers.

  2. Pingback: Write at the Merge Wrap Up, Week 22 | Write On Edge

  3. Somehow, from the comments, I don’t think that anyone got that the main character met her DEAD husband in the saloon. This wasn’t about a saintly or otherwise lifestyle…This was supposed to be an end-of-life story. looks like a lot of people didn’t catch that… just thought I’d clarify it.

Leave a Reply

