Busy! Crazy Busy!

Standard

Oh, I’ve been so busy I don’t know whether I’m coming or going! I’ve done an Emergency Response Team exercise, Vacation Bible School teaching, getting a roughout to a new novel to the publisher, all the while building a new art portfolio…which, I might add was great!

Last weekend, I went to an art show/sale. I came in with a notebook of trading card style sketches… 720 sketches. I also brought 5 larger pieces ranging in size from 8×10 to 16×18. I expected to have a pretty boring day sitting behind a table, fighting the anxiety I always feel when someone looks at my works in front of me. But, I drew out some blank cards and did some doodling… before I knew it, the first people were there. An hour later…let me reiterate that…AN HOUR LATER, I was looking at an empty book, and an empty table. I had SOLD OUT!

Wow! That’s the best I’ve ever done. And, the pieces weren’t cheap, either. I was selling the trading cards for $15 each, and the larger works were from $50 -$75… I am soooo Thankful to those that bought items. I was able to pay my rent, buy groceries, and catch up on a few overdue bills!

The only down-side is that I have a booth at a show this weekend and there’s not a single thing in my portfolio to sell! Oh, what am I nitching about. I wouldn’t have been able to get $3 a piece at this weekend’s show. I’ll just call and cancel that booth and go and dance instead.

Leave a Reply

