Not to Nano…

Standard

As many of you know, I love to do Nano (www.nanowrimo.org) every year. I’ve been doing it every year since the turn of the millennium. That said, in the last two years, there’s been a distinct, and not so friendly, change out there in the world of Nano. I’ve seen a lot of bullying and intimidation in the forums (so much so, that I no longer participate in them) as well as through FB. This year, I found that I, along with all 20 of our writing groupies, have been “blacklisted as known spammers”, why? It appears that we all have the same ISP…well, of course we do, we all use the public library system computers to access the internet. So, needless to say, though I did get into the site via the use of a friends computer, I was unable to address the problem with the Nano people in a private way and had to throw a fit through an unrelated FB message to get to them.

Truthfully, and in all honesty, it’s not worth the hassle. Did I really seriously enjoy both the challenge and the sharing with other authors… YES! Did I enjoy setting a higher goal that would last me longer than a week…YES! Am I seriously annoyed that I had to use a fake name, fake email (which I had to create this week just to participate.)… YES! For a site that promotes that you use your real name, real *, etc. Needless to say, if it’s got me this stressed, even before I pick up a pen or hit a key, then, it’s just not worth it.

A group of us, all Nano REJECTS, have decided to form our own group where we set our individual goals, genres, and styles. We decided to run from October 15 – November 15 so we can all be done before the holiday. It will be nice not to have to hide away trying to meet a writing goal while the family is enjoying the day. All 20 of our writing group has joined, as well as about 50 others who like the date spread, and the freedom of choosing a genre and style. That makes over 70 former Nano veterans and newbies who have jumped ship. The kickoff party was great last night (tons of pizza and pop consumed). Saturday, we’re all meeting at a friend’s farm to write together and have a barbeque complete with a haunted hayride, and followed by going haunted housing!

We’ve even invited a group of artistic individuals to join our group. They are going to do a comparable challenge with their artwork. It’s going to be fun!

Nano might not want us, but it won’t keep us from writing, or enjoying the process!

To all you Nanites who may stumble upon this, I wish you all the luck in the world for reaching your goals and enjoying the month!

11 responses »

  1. What a shame that Nano has changed. I started participating in a NaNoWriMo three or four years ago but dropped out due to other commitments. It seemed like a great community then but clearly it has drastically altered.

    • Yes, unfortunately it has. We decided to start our own group, and like I said, it’s mostly made up of people they “blacklisted” this year. That should say something. Last year, it seemed if you weren’t writing demons, witches, dragons, or vampires you were out of the loop. My writing is usually far less evil in content.

      • It sounds like NaNoWriMo has succumbed to the Twilight effect. I see so many novels these days which are basically spin-offs from Twilight and it bores me. I’m not a fan of sci-fi/fantasy, apart from the Harry Potter books. But each to their own, I suppose.

  2. I took part last year and never noticed the stuff you’re talking about, but saying that, I concentrated on the writing and didn’t visit the forums till after I was done. I am sorry they booted you, after all they need any writers to take part. Hope your challenge goes well and catch you around I hope. 🙂

  3. Hurrah for your ‘Salon des Refusés’! You made a positive from a negative. Well done to you and your fellow refusés. I toyed with the idea of doing Nano at one point, but decided against it. I’ve read that there are those who DO complete the challenge have often little to show for it but a lot of words that they never manage to make cohere. Clearly, it’s not a method for everybody. Good luck. Ann

    • Thank you, for your support! 🙂 I’ve actually found that Nano has helped me to actually complete at least a rough draft of a story from start to finish. I’m good at the starting, but the last 1/4 of the manuscript has a tendency to spin me out if I’m not kept on task. This year, instead of doing an entirely fresh document, I’m focusing on finishing out two books that have been sitting on my shelf for a few months. They both need final scenes, formatted, and cut to disk for holiday giving to a couple of very dear fans (fans who granted me the privilege of using their stories in these two books, fictionalized, of course.).

      • Sounds interesting. Are you going to record them as audio books as presents? Sounds like an excellent idea. (Lightbulb lit up over Ann’s head).

      • No, I copy a pdf, or word file (depending on individual fan), and sometimes both. These particular fans have been with me since day one back when I was about 7yrs old and I wrote the first story. I visit them and they have a shelf of hand written copies, and more recent cd’s with all my books. I can’t afford to go the traditional publishing route. But, it’s great that they’ve always supported and bought my copies. this year, I’ve gotten all 38 books into cd format, so I’m gifting the set, plus a bonus of the newest book.

    • Anne,
      I am going to still do Nano. I had to set up a new email account to be able to do it, so I will not be revealing who I am. I linked up with Nano on facebook, and in less than 24 hrs, my FB page and email were seriously hacked. It’s sad that people feel they have to do that.

Leave a Reply

